36 reasons to love MarketPlace

We asked the artisans and our friends why they love MarketPlace.

Here’s what they had to say:

1

“I get the opportunity to learn new things every day. MarketPlace gives me the opportunity to participate in social issues and help bring about change in my community.” – Artisan Sharda, Nirmaan Cooperative

2

“MarketPlace has taught me to first love and respect myself.” – Artisan Deepika, WARE Cooperative

2

3

“Not only their skill but also working to improve themselves, their children and community. It is hard but they are making a difference.” – Brenda on Facebook

4

“My mother raised us because my father was an alcoholic. MarketPlace taught me to sew and do embroidery so now I can support my kids as well as my mother.” – Artisan Razia, Sahara Cooperative

3

5

“The flow and beauty of the fabrics and embroidery.” – Mary on Facebook

6

“MarketPlace has made me financially independent and given me the courage to do almost anything.” – Artisan Poonam Shukla, Nirmaan Cooperative

4

7

“I am impressed with the quality and lovely patterns.” – Linda on Facebook

8

“Twenty-five years with MarketPlace has given me a new perspective on life. MarketPlace has given me a lifestyle.” – Artisan Meera Singh, Sahara Cooperative

5

9

“I love the way multiple textile patterns are combined in one garment. And I love the real ikat.” – Carol on Facebook

10

“Thanks to MarketPlace I no longer feel like I am a burden on my family.” – Artisan Sunita Sharma, Nirman Cooperative

6

11

“I love how comfortable (the clothes) are and how long they last.” – Rachel on Facebook

12

“MarketPlace gave me the opportunity to attend meetings and talk to people. This has really helped build my confidence. I no longer feel like I am being dominated in every situation.” – Artisan Laxmi Vishvakarma, Sahara Cooperative

7

13

“They have so much skill. Not only is their work excellent in quality overall, the decorative stitch-work is so artistic!” – Kelly on Facebook

14

“Twenty years back when I first started working at MarketPlace, I was too scared to step out of my house by myself. I am now so much more confident of myself and I actually like talking to new people now. I’ve also enjoyed acting in street plays very much.” – Artisan Tara Tiwari, WARE Cooperative

8

15

“I have been proudly wearing your clothes for over 30 years. They last and always catch the eye of a passerby. Your intricate work is what catches the eye of the admirers. Thank you for your skill and love.” – Joyce on Facebook

16

“In the last 14 years with MarketPlace I have learnt the importance of education. I am working hard to educate my four children. One of my daughters is doing her post graduation and working simultaneously. I am so proud!” – Artisan Meena Sharma, Sahara Cooperative

9

17

“Wearing the clothes you make always makes me happy. The garments are beautiful…” – Carol on Facebook

18

“I am so proud that I have my own income now and am able to contribute towards family expenses.” – Artisan Sadhana Vishwakarma, WARE Cooperative

10

19

“All of you contribute so much beauty into a world that is sometimes not so beautiful. That makes you very special!” – Rebekah on Facebook

20

“I have worked with MarketPlace for 18 years. Because of my work I have been able to send my kids to good schools and also been able to deal with issues in my community thanks to the Social Action programs.” – Artisan Bharti Solanki, Nirmaan Cooperative

11

21

“Your pride in your work shows in every stitch.” – Paula on Facebook

22

“When I first got married, I had to keep my head covered with my sari pallu in front of my in laws. I have come a long way in the last 11 years working with MarketPlace. My husband does not have a job and does not keep well. I am so happy that I can support my family on my income.” -Artisan Pushpa Jaiswal, Sahara Cooperative

12

23

“I love the embroidery and the colors- makes everything so special!” – Janet on Facebook

24

“I didn’t really like tailoring before I joined MarketPlace. I really enjoy it now because of the work environment and the people I work with.” -Artisan Babita Vishwakarma, Sahara Cooperative

13

25

“Your work is so intricate, so beautiful, and so beloved by me and many many other people. Thank you for all the care you put into your work, your talent and your special attention to quality. It is appreciated!” – Marian on Facebook

26

“I used to work at a plastic spare part company and it was hard physical work. Now I really enjoy doing the embroidery at home and being part of the cooperative decisions” – Artisan Akshata More, Arpan Cooperative

14

27

“Thank you for your hard work & dedication making beautiful clothing, making a difference in your local communities, making others aware of a way to bring beauty & integrity to the world!” – Mick on Facebook

28

“I would never travel alone before I joined MarketPlace but I now have the confidence to go sourcing for garment accessories on my own. MarketPlace has also taught me essential accounting skills and I now maintain the accounts for my group.” -Artisan Pramila, Arpan Cooperative

15

29

“Best clothes ever!” – Cathi on Facebook

30

“I have been a trainee with MarketPlace for five months now. Before this I would only get small jobs like thread cutting and the work would be irregular. But in the last few months I have learnt sewing and can now independently make quite a few products like cushion covers, necklace pouches and patchwork on garments.” – Artisan Trainee Jyoti, Umang Cooperative

16

31

“The love and care that goes into each garment shows the loving, caring women you truly are.” – Dara on Facebook

32

“I have worked with MarketPlace for 15 years and in this time I have learnt how to fight for my rights. I have been working to secure our right to ration (subsidised groceries) and also lodged a complaint to clean up the gutters near my house.” -Artisan Sugandha Hode, Arpan Cooperative

18

33

Besides getting an opportunity to learn, I am excited that I’m a signatory for the bank account of the cooperative.” -Artisan Meena Gale, Ranphul Cooperative

19

34

“MarketPlace has given me the resources to not only raise four kids of my own but also to take care of my brother’s three children, after their mother left them.” – Artisan Shaila Kamble, Arpan Cooperative

20

35

“The parenting program of the Armaan Club helps me a lot. I am more patient and understanding towards my kids thanks to it.” -Artisan Arti Sahu, WARE Cooperative

21

36

“Because your clothes are my favorite.” – Clara on Facebook


 

Share the reasons you love MarketPlace with us on Facebook and

we’ll pass along your notes to the artisans!

Leave a Reply

