Artisans’ Kids Bust Stereotypes

We asked the artisans’ kids what they felt about some common social stereotypes. We then asked them to write down one social “rule” that they have proven wrong. Here are some of the answers we got.

blog 1

blog 2

blog 3

blog 4

What did the kids feel about this exercise? The kids were intrigued and excited to put their thoughts down on paper. This is what they had to say:

“I worked very hard at overcoming my physical condition. And I’m happy that my efforts can inspire someone else. People usually pity kids like me but I had confidence in myself.”

“These are the things that parents, teachers, neighbors keep saying. And we put exactly those words on the cards. I think this is the best answer we can give them.”

“How can anyone else know what I am capable of? No one has the right to tell me what I can or cannot do. And no one can really tell what my capabilities are.”

2 comments

  1. Hello! I am a woman with a disability, and I too am an artist. I make jewelry and paintings and sell them at fairs. I just want to tell you; Don’t ever stop dreaming, never let others tell you what you can and cannot do!

Leave a Reply

