MarketPlace Style: A Saturday in the City


What I really love about MarketPlace products is their versatility. I think every wardrobe can easily incorporate a MarketPlace piece. While a bohemian stylization is the most obvious, I say why not high fashion? High fashion is based on unique, well-made, and innovative pieces. MarketPlace: Handwork of India creations clearly embody these same ideals if not much more! I love the marriage of MarketPlace’s pieces and high fashion because it lends so much more depth to an outfit. Also, who doesn’t want to feel like they’ve done a little good while looking gorgeous?

While there were many choices to create a fun combination, I chose the Kumari maroon top. It’s clearly sophisticated and the colors lent a perfect mood for a gorgeous fall-winter outfit. Paired with simple dark jeans and a classic trench make for a simple yet classy arrangement.

I always say accessories have the power to change an outfit completely so I decided to have a bit more fun with them for a weekend outfit. I paired it with a very “of the season” satchel and suede platform stiletto booties with a moccasin-inspired tassel. For a little sparkle, I added some gold filigree earrings with a leaf design that ties in well with the MarketPlace top. I intentionally chose accessories that had some personality to them, as MarketPlace products are never bleak and I wanted the outfit to keep its character.

While I created a weekend outfit, the possibilities with the Kumari top are endless. To bring the top into work and give it a professional look, one could keep the trench; add a well-fitted pair of brown trousers and some fun flats or a simple pump. And for a slightly different weekend look if the platform stiletto is too intimidating, a pair of tall brown flat boots would be just as stylish!

I say whatever your closet looks like, step out of the box a little bit and start pairing things together that you wouldn’t’ have thought about before. Let’s bring some fun back into fashion instead of a daily chore of figuring out what to wear. Next time you go to your closet why not mix it up and let go of those limiting thoughts of thinking you can only pair a particular piece with a couple items. Try it; you just might surprise yourself. Plus you might find yourself a new outfit without spending any money!

Photos from fabsugar.com, marketplaceplaceindia.org, and net-a-porter.com

3 comments

  1. Great ideas!
    Since the Marketplace India doesn’t allow email contact, I’d like to ask a question here if that’s okay. It’s about the “Sangli” dress, #41H-02 — is that dress really 50″ from the _waist_ in size S? That doesn’t seem right. This is a beautiful dress and I’d love to buy one, but I usually wear petite and so I wonder — Is that measurement from the shoulder, or is the waist-to-hem length different?

Leave a Reply

